David Cameron is the biggest tit in my newspaper.

Addendum

I felt the need to make an addendum to my blog of last Sunday.

In my post I tentatively suggested the tide was changing. I questioned whether The Sun would dare to mock Caroline Lucas in the way they had done Clare Short a few years ago.

The Sun, as far as I can tell, has stayed quiet on the subject.

But maybe I should have been more worried about how Caroline Lucas would be treated in the House of Commons, by some of her fellow Members of Parliament. And not just any old MPs. David Cameron. Our Prime Minister.

Image

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-22972683 

After DC’s disdainful, patronising and mocking response to Caroline’s question on whether  he would join her in seeking to remove The Sun (while it contains images of topless women on page 3) from the parliamentary estate given the Government’s own research shows a link between sexual objectification of women in the media and the acceptance of harassment and violence against women in society…I have come to one conclusion:

David Cameron. You are the biggest tit in my newspaper.

3 thoughts on “David Cameron is the biggest tit in my newspaper.

  1. The importance of this cannot be understated. As Prime Minister of our nation, he can, whether he likes it or not, lead public opinion on big issues. That doesn’t make him infallible, but it is an important point, I believe.

    If he had made a stand, and supported the campaign, it could have been important. It could have got people talking. With all due respect to Caroline Lucas and any other MP, they aren’t in our papers as much as the Prime Minister. Whether we’re talking about the President of the US, Prime Minister of the UK or Chancellor of Germany, they can make an impact in a way no-one else can.

    Very disappointed in Mr. Cameron.

    • I can understand (not agree with, but understand) his inability to support any sort of ban on page3 or temporary removal of The Sun from HoC, not least because he is BFFs with Murdoch. But to completely ignore Caroline’s point about the link between media sexism and the harassment and violence against women and to laugh at a serious question has really upset me.

  2. The laughing is perhaps the most disrespectful, not the type of dignified behaviour one would expect from our Prime Minister. It’s disappointing on so many levels.

    If Page 3 featured men, and I worked in an office full of women making sexist points or comparing me to the male images, I would feel uncomfortable, even if I didn’t show it. So I can appreciate how women being subjected to harassment and sexism, whether that is caused directly or indirectly by Page 3, would be annoying.

Leave a Reply

